Australia Day honours for pharmacists

Three pharmacists were among those recognised in this year’s Australia Day honours list for exceptional contributions to their communities.

This includes Emeritus Professor Bruce Sunderland, who was appointed a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for his significant service to education, particularly to pharmacy.

PSA Life Fellow Bruce Sunderland AM. Image: LinkedIn

A Life Fellow of the PSA, Emeritus Professor Sunderland began at Curtin University in Western Australia (WA) in 1968. He has taught more than a generation of pharmacists, and was Head of the School of Pharmacy from 1989-1996 and 1998-2002.

His significant academic and practice roles, and his work as an editorial board member of the Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook, have had a great impact on the profession, PSA Associate Professor Chris Freeman said.

‘Each pharmacist recognised on Australia Day represents the contribution members of our profession make to their local communities, and more broadly, each and every day,’ he said.

Fellow Western Australian and PSA Life Member Maxwell Page was awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia for service to the performing arts in WA. He has been a member of the Gilbert and Sullivan Society of WA since the early 1970s and was Chair of the WA Arts Orchestra.

Mr Page has also made a significant contribution to the pharmacy profession in WA as a pharmacist, member of the PSA and as a lecturer at Curtin University for more than 40 years.

Tasmanian pharmacist Jocelyn Watson was awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia, for service to the community of Launceston.

As a long-serving member of many community groups, Ms Watson has had an impactful career in pharmacy. She has served as a mentor to many younger pharmacists, particularly in her roles with the former Pharmacy Board of Tasmania, and as a locum pharmacist for 42 years.

A/Prof Freeman congratulated the honourees for their commitment to pharmacy and improving health care in Australia.

‘Our pharmacists give generously of their expertise, time and support – often behind the scenes and without expectation of anything in return,’ he said.

Damien Smith AM. Image: LinkedIn

‘It is heartwarming to today see these leading members of our profession publicly thanked on the national stage and providing inspiration to others.’

Pharmacy industry business leader Damien Smith also recognised. The Chair of the Community Pharmacy Friendly Society was appointed a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for significant service to business through a range of roles.

Mr Smith has been an independent director of Community Pharmacy since 1996, and is also the Chair of Ego Pharmaceuticals.

View the full list of Australia Day Honours here.