Distinguished pharmacists receive Australia Day awards

Australia Day

The 2021 Australia Day Honours List included several high profile pharmacists and educators in the profession.

PSA National President Associate Professor Chris Freeman congratulated all the recipients for their awards, which serve as a recognition of their contributions to the Australian health sector, pharmacy and the broader community.

The recipients include:

  • Professor William Charman – Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)
  • Professor Peter Carroll FPS – Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
  • Col. (Rtd) Bill Kelly – Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
  • Rodney Whyte MPS – Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)
  • Judith Ingham – Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Col. Kelly, PSA ACT Branch Vice President, was appointed an AM for his continued service to pharmacy through a range of roles.

‘Bill’s award recognises a sustained and broad leadership career, which includes Chairperson of the Pharmacy Board of Australia and the ACT, Colonel Consultant Pharmacist in the Australian Army, and Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Head, Professional Division at PSA,’ A/Prof Freeman said.

Professor Carroll, a PSA Board Member and former New South Wales (NSW) Branch President, was honoured for his fundamental contribution to pharmaceutical education and community health. He is currently Professor and Head of Pharmacology in the School of Medicine, University of Notre Dame, and an Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Medicine and Health at the University of Sydney and the Northern Clinical School, Royal North Shore Hospital. 

Peter Carroll AM FPS

‘Professor Carroll has been largely responsible for the introduction of a number of very important practice changes during his long and distinguished career, including expanding the role of community pharmacists in NSW through the administration of vaccines,’ A/Prof Freeman said. 

‘Peter has provided a significant contribution to the education of students studying medicine, nursing and pharmacy, as well as the continuing professional education of GPs, nurses and pharmacists.’

Professor Carroll acknowledged the role that his fellow pharmacists have played in his achievements, and will continue to play in the improvement of health care.

‘I am humbled to have received the AM, but without the friendship and support of so many colleagues in both pharmacy and academia, it would not have been possible,’ he told Australian Pharmacist.

‘I am passionate about community pharmacy and the role pharmacists play in improving the health of the nation.

‘I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to contribute to the rollout of vaccines, which has without a doubt increased herd immunity and prevented the spread of disease within the community,’ he added.

‘I look forward to community pharmacists playing a major role in the administration of the COVID-19 vaccine, and continuing to help protect Australians from the impact of this pandemic.’

Professor Charman was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to tertiary education, particularly to the pharmaceutical sciences and professional organisations.

‘Prof Charman’s career is unparalleled at both a national and international level,’ A/Prof Freeman said. 

‘His leadership in pharmacy education has actively shaped pharmacist practice across the globe while translating his significant research for the betterment of human health. 

‘Bill has represented pharmacists at the highest international level in his role on the Board and Executive Council of the International Pharmaceutical Federation.’

Mr Whyte, the PSA 2017 Victorian Pharmacist Medal winner, received his award for service to pharmacy, professional societies and the community, while Ms Ingham was awarded an OAM for service to the community and to pharmacy.

Of the honoured pharmacists’ contributions to the profession, A/Prof Freeman said: ‘It is fitting to see the work of these respected professionals recognised with their Australia Day honours – a tribute to their ongoing work on their own behalf and those they work with and for. 

‘They have earned their awards after many years of dedication and commitment to both pharmacy and Australian society – PSA congratulates them.’