Victoria’s top pharmacists honoured

The 2022 Victorian Pharmacist Award winners

The PSA gives kudos to Victorian pharmacists who are making impressive contributions to the pharmacy profession and the health of their communities.

Public health awareness campaigns, innovative services and four decades of clinical research and practice were celebrated at the 2022 PSA Victorian Pharmacist Awards.

The awards included the Victoria-only Pharmacist Medal. Congratulating the five winners at the celebratory dinner on Thursday 8 December in Melbourne, PSA Victorian President John Jackson thanked them for their dedication to improving Australian healthcare.

‘Each and every pharmacist recognised … has made a significant contribution to the profession over the last year and throughout their careers and I congratulate them all on this worthy recognition.

‘Congratulations to the award winners and all the nominees for your commitment to better health.’

Here is the winning line-up.

Intern of the Year – Heba Ali, Mickleham

An Intern at Chemist Warehouse Merrifield City Pharmacy in Mickleham, Heba Ali has demonstrated a commitment to patient-centred care and professional practice and earned consistently high grades in her PSA Intern Training Program assessments. 

She also contributed to a public health awareness campaign on blood pressure, highlighting the role of pharmacists in the community, which was instituted at her pharmacy this year.

Early Career Pharmacist of the Year – Lauren Haworth MPS, Maddingley

With a reputation as a passionate community pharmacist in rural practice and a commitment to ECP and PSA activities, Lauren Haworth Pharmacist in Charge at TerryWhite Chemmart Maddingley, is the Victorian ECP of the Year. 

She opened a pharmacy as the COVID-19 pandemic began (see AP Career Pathways September 2021), and thrived due to her hard work, commitment and leadership.

Pharmacist Medal – Paul Gysslink MPS, Balwyn

The Pharmacist Medal recognises the quiet achievement of Paul Gysslink who has consistently contributed to PSA’s Intern Training Program through workshop facilitation, assessment, marking and content advice. 

Throughout his long career he has worked for the pharmacy profession through union representation, PSA branch committee membership and delivered a strong voice for pharmacists, technicians and assistants.

Pharmacist of the Year – Yvette Anderson MPS, Bendigo

The Victorian Pharmacist of the Year Yvette Anderson is a rural pharmacist in Bendigo who launched the Spectrum Pharmacist service, an online consultation and telehealth clinic tailored to patients with neurodevelopmental conditions. 

Through the Spectrum Pharmacist service, Ms Anderson helps individuals, families and carers with Autism Spectrum Disorder, dyslexia and co-occurring conditions such as Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder understand their conditions and treatment options and everyday life with expert support.

She also won the PSA22 Pharmacy Shark Tank competition and the People’s Choice Award for the Spectrum Pharmacist service.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Professor Geoff Sussman OAM JP FPS, Melbourne

Associate Professor of Wound Care at Monash University Professor Geoff Sussman OAM JP FPS – Olympian, cantor at his local synagogue, TV writer, director and performer, researcher and sports administrator – has made a significant contribution to the profession. 

As a Clinical Lecturer in Medical Education at the University of Melbourne, he lectures in pharmacology, sports medicine, and wound care. His Lifetime Achievement Award recognises an extensive international career and reputation in wound care including 4 decades in clinical research and practice and more than 100 publications.