Outstanding student wins award at PSA19 Gala Dinner

Alice Hashiguchi, 2019 Pharmacy Student of the Year receiving her award at the PSA19 gala dinner

University of Western Australia student Alice Hashiguchi was awarded the 2019 PSA Mylan Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) Award last night.

Ms Hashiguchi was selected from a group of six finalists for demonstrating exceptional skills in a practical setting.

PSA National President Dr Chris Freeman congratulated Ms Hashiguchi on her exceptional achievement.

‘The PSOTY Award gives outstanding pharmacy students the chance to showcase their counselling skills to their peers and the wider profession,’ Dr Freeman said.

Dr Freeman also acknowledged the high calibre of this years finalists: ‘We saw many rising stars of pharmacy apply their clinical knowledge and communication skills in this year’s competition.’

This year’s six finalists included:

  • Alice Hashiguchi, University of Western Australia
  • Kiralee Gross, James Cook University
  • Alyssa Murray, University of Queensland
  • Patrick Bevan, University of Tasmania
  • Sadaf Keshtiar, Monash University 
  • Samuel Watts, Monash University.

Ms Gross was awarded the People’s Choice award.

In acknowledgement of her achievement, Ms Hashiguchi received the National Travel Prize for pharmacy-specific education of an expenses-paid trip to a pharmacy conference. The 2019 competition was once again sponsored by Mylan. 

Mylan Country Manager Sylvain Vigneault spoke of the organisation’s ongoing support of pharmacy students.

‘We recognise the important contribution that pharmacists make in facilitating better patient outcomes within their community. We feel strongly about encouraging pharmacy students to learn, grow and explore the role they will play, delivering better health in Australia,’ he said. 

Dr Freeman extended his appreciation to Mylan on behalf of PSA for their ongoing support of the PSOTY Award.